RSS Feed

*RANT* I don’t quite understand..

Posted on

Non-edible products which are scented to smell like food (especially desserts).

The fact is I can’t eat them! mad

Commercial products like Yoghurt Face Cream.. It smells like Yoghurt, looks like Yoghurt, is apparently made of Yoghurt, but it cannot be eaten…

Or Fruity Body Butter, which smells so delicious, but it can’t be eaten…..

Then there was the time when I was still living in Taiwan and I came across some colouring pens which smelt like chocolate.. CHOCOLATES!!

rant

WHY?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! question

I remember some of my classmates were using their red or pink colouring pens to draw on their nails or (worse) on their lips.

Even back then, I was quite certain these pens and their ink weren’t designed to be edible.

Therefore, wasn’t it in a way dangerous to have these chocolate-smelling non-edible pens for children?

Is it a marketing technique???????

I notice a big chunk of the female population (myself included) really enjoy desserts, and sweet things in general. (Not to say the male population doesn’t.)

Also, it seems like most food-smelling non edible products are aimed at female consumers. Since, the Face Cream and Body Butter all have photographed female faces or body parts plastered over their containers.

And as for the colouring pens..

Good thing that times have really changed, and everyone is on more equal terms now, but the fact is in Taiwan, back when I was little, the mothers would have been more likely the parent to buy stationeries for their children; hence I believe it may be plausible to suggest the pens were designed to attract both the children’s and mothers’ attention.

So maybe the marketing teams of these businesses think they can sell more products by adding in the dessert-smelling element?? Actually, that’s a very silly question, of course they think they can sell more products by adding in the food smell!! That’s why it’s there!!!

But what made them assume that??

I can only theorize.. without knowing the real answer.

ANYWAY, enough ranting.

It would be very interesting, at least for me, to understand the reason behind the design of these commercial products.

About hungabusta

Hello Everyone! Please feel welcome to visit my food review blog, especially when you are passionate about food like I am. https://hungabusta.wordpress.com/ Thank you!! (^-^)

Leave a Reply

